Skip to content ↓


Welcome to the governance section of the website, we hope you find it useful and informative.

St Martin’s is a Voluntary Aided Church of England Primary School and a member of the Diocese of Salisbury Academy Trust (DSAT). 

DSAT is responsible for the overall governance of the school and, in consultation with the Salisbury Diocesan Board of Education (SDBE), appoints an Academy Standards and Ethos Committee (ASEC) to provide more focused governance at the local level.  

Further information about being an Academy Standards & Ethos Committee member in a DSAT school can be found by clicking here. This also provides further detail about the structure and remit of members, the board of trustees, its committees and local governing bodies (the scheme of delegation).

St Martin’s Academy Standards and Ethos Committee (ASEC) works on behalf of the children’s parents and carers, and of the local community, to develop and monitor:

  • The vision, ethos, and strategic direction of the school
  • The educational performance of the school

It does this by working closely with the Headteacher who is responsible for the day to day running of the school. 

The ASEC includes up to nine governors:

The Headteacher, a Staff Governor, two Parent Governors (elected by parents) and five Foundation (members of the local Church of England) or Trust Appointed Governors.  Associate Governors may also be appointed to support the development of special projects or particular aspects of the school. 

The ASEC meets at least 6 times per year and between these meetings its members visit school to monitor specific areas such as safeguarding, the curriculum, special educational needs, the school’s spiritual development. 

Members of the Academic Standards and Ethos Committee:

Mike Oldham - Chair (Foundation)

Barbara Lovibond - Vice Chair (Foundation)

Becky McManus (ex-officio) - Headteacher

Steven Donohue (Trust Appointed)

Kirsten Harwood (Trust Appointed)

Mary Lilley (Foundation)

Debbie Williams (Trust Appointed)

If you wish to contact the Academy Standards & Ethos Committee please email